Board of Directors

Our board members come from diverse backgrounds, with each individual bringing their expertise to the board in an effort to move forward the cause of preserving western North Carolina’s great outdoors.

2017 Board of Directors

  • Ron Beane, Chair, Caldwell County
    Retired Educator
  • Martha Whitfield, Vice Chair, Burke County
    Retired Journalist & Art Teacher
  • Susan Powers, Secretary, Caldwell County
    Retired Geologist & Teacher
  • J. Gordon Scott, III, Treasurer, Rutherford County
    Retired Businessman
  • Margaret “Peg” Broyhill, Caldwell County
    SVP – Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC
  • Ann Costello, McDowell County
    Retired Businesswoman
  • Sallie Craig, Cleveland County
    Principal – Next Level CPA
  • Forrest Ferrell, Catawba County
    Retired Judge/Attorney
  • Tom Foster, Catawba County
    Retired Ophthalmologist
  • Allen Fullwood, Burke County
    Retired, NC Division of Mental Health
  • Jim Goldsmith, McDowell County
  • Kelly Hawkins, Burke County
    Homemaker & Former NGO Development Director
  • Randy Loftis, Burke County
    Partner – Office Head – Litigation Practice Group Co-Chair
  • Jim Sain, McDowell County
    Retired NC Courts Administrator
  • Mike Tanner, Rutherford County
    Tanner Companies
  • Ex-Officio
    Andrew Kota, Executive Director